Mission Statement

The University Program Council (UPC Nebraska) is a student organization that provides diverse, educational and entertaining programs to enhance the UNL community.


Our Story

What began as the Union Program Council was started shortly after the Nebraska Union opened in 1938. At that time, the programming focused on the Union and consisted primarily of speakers and films. In January 1978, The Board of Regents passed a new student fee policy that stipulated only the student government, student newspaper, and a major programming organization would receive student fee support. A student task force analyzed the results of the new Regents’ policy and created the structure for the newly named University Program Council (UPC).

In 2001, UPC was restructured in order to provide members with a sense of ownership and divide the workload equally among members. As a result, UPC Nebraska was divided into three committees: Entertainment, Diversity, and Public Relations. The eight executive officers included President, Vice President, Financial Manager, Secretary, Membership Coordinator, and the three Committee Chairs. In Spring 2004, UPC Nebraska voted to change the name of the Diversity Committee to Diversity/Education to better represent the committee’s goal of programming to enrich campus education on a variety of topics.


Executive Board

The University Program Council (UPC Nebraska) is a student led programming board that provides diverse, educational, and entertaining events to enhance the Nebraska community. UPC Nebraska events range from speakers on the latest hot topics to discounted tickets to concerts and Broadway shows, as well as live performances from musicians and comedians, such as the annual UNL Homecoming Concert. With a General Council of volunteer student programmers led by an Executive Board, UPC Nebraska strives to plan events that meet the needs of all UNL students and the Nebraska community.


The 2020 UPC Nebraska Executive Board

President Victoria Wehrman
Internal Vice President Kennedy Wolfe
External Vice President Stella Sather
Membership Coordinator Yahaira Castro>
Primary Programmer Jessica Conrad
Secretary Kylie Gropp
Financial Manager Macy Baldwin
Entertainment Chair Quinlan Sleddens
Diversity/Education Chair Hana Pham
Marketing Chair Norah Green
Communications Chair Kirsten Wandrey