Louis Crompton Scholarship

Contact Information

Pat Tetreault, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Student Involvement
Director, LGBTQA Resource Center
(402) 472-1752
345 Nebraska Union

LGBTQA Resource Center

345 Nebraska Union
(402) 472-1652

Louis Crompton Photo

"A Pioneer of grace, social justice, and inclusion."

The Louis Crompton Scholarship, created in 2009, is worth $500 ($250 per semester) and is to be given to a student who is enrolled in the LGBTQ/Sexuality Studies minor,  a member of the Queer Ally Coalition (or another LGBTQA Registered Student Organization), and/or a Queerteer (student staff, supporters and/or volunteers at the LGBTQA Resource Center at UNL).

The student must be attending UNL during the academic year that the scholarship is provided, must maintain a 2.5 cumulative grade point average, and carry a minimum of 12 credit hours. Preference will be given to students who demonstrate financial need as defined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Selection will be based on integrity and honesty, support and inclusion of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Ally community, and participation in LGBTQA community activities (e.g., QAC member, volunteer at the LGBTQA Resource Center at UNL, or enrolled in the LGBTQ/Sexuality Studies minor).

Louis Crompton was an extraordinary pioneer of gay studies and an international scholar of nineteenth-century British literature. Born in Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada on April 5, 1925 to Clarence Crompton, Master Mariner, and Mabel Crompton, Dr. Crompton demonstrated excellence throughout his life. After graduating from the University of Toronto with a M.A. in mathematics (1948) and from the University of Chicago with a Ph.D. in English (1954), Dr. Crompton began his long career to become an incredible scholar and an honored professor of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln community. His awards include the Frank H. Woods Foundation Fellowship, the Phi Beta Kappa Christian Gauss Award for Literary Criticism for 1969 (for his book, Shaw the Dramatist), the Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to the GLBT Community in 2003, the Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity in 1986, and the Bonnie Zimmerman and Vern L. Bullough prize of the Foundation for the Scientific Study of Sexuality award for 2003 (for his book, Homosexuality and Civilization that covers 2500 years of world history). He is survived by his beloved husband, Luis Diaz-Perdomo, also a former faculty member at UNL who also served many years with Counseling and Psychological Services at UNL and facilitated the Gay Men’s Discussion Group.

Crompton became an inspiring figure at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In 1970, he started the second gay studies course in the nation at UNL (Pro-seminar in Homophile Studies), which became a heated debated topic for Nebraska’s elections that year (a bill was introduced that year to ban the teaching of homosexuality at any state college, but it failed). He also became the faculty advisor for the Gay Action Group which would become the Gay/Lesbian Student Association, Spectrum, the Queer Student Alliance and most recently, the Queer Ally Coalition. Crompton also was a figure in founding the UNL Homophobia Awareness Committee which would become the Committee on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns, a committee that seeks to provide inclusion and a safe environment for the LGBTQ community at UNL. Louis Crompton also co-founded the Gay and Lesbian Caucus of the Modern Language Association in 1974.

The purpose of this scholarship is to honor a true hero in gay rights and leader in academics and to inspire change and inclusion for students interested in and working toward a more inclusive, welcoming and socially just environment for the LGBTQ community.

Louis Crompton spent much of his career working for social justice and inclusion for students, staff and faculty at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and to educate others to inspire this type of environment. These are characteristics that indicate an honorable citizen and wonderful human being and we want to support and encourage others who similarly want to contribute to the LGBTQ community.  This scholarship is in honor of his compassion, grace, scholarship and nobility, and we are honored and grateful to be able to provide this scholarship in his memory.

The Louis Crompton Scholarship was initiated by Ryan Fette and Fred Schneider with assistance and support from Pat Tetreault and the University of Nebraska Foundation.  Established in 2009, we are well on our way to the scholarship being endowed. Once we have raised $25,000 the scholarship will be endowed and become a permanent scholarship.  Each year, applications will be accepted and a qualified recipient will be awarded $500 ($250 each semester to be credited toward the student’s tuition and fees).

The first scholarship recipient, Jason Lucht, was selected in January 2010 (for a related article visit: http://stories.nufoundation.org/node/646).  

To download The Louis Crompton Scholarship form, click here.

Louis Crompton Scholarship Recipients:

Spring 2010        Jason Lucht

Fall 2010            Chelsea Chappel

Fall 2011            Michael Booton

Contributions to the Louis Crompton Scholarship Fund may be made at www.nufoundation.org/crompton. Gifts made payable to the University of Nebraska Foundation may also be sent to: Louis Crompton Scholarship Fund, University of Nebraska Foundation, 1010 Lincoln Mall Ste 300, Lincoln NE 68508. For more information contact Lori Thomas, 402.458.1156 or lthomas@nufoundation.org